Why Centre on Literacy for levels

  • Is literacy a good tool?
  • Can literacy develop into a good tool for assessment?
  • If students can use language to express themselves and religious ideas surely they must have a good grasp of the subject in order to be able to do so?
    • Yes on the one hand – i.e. I can use the phrases without necessarily needing to explain them because I already understand their background/meaning
    • No on the other hand – i.e. I can use the word but I cannot explain it and I am not sure if I am using the right meaning but I am going to use it anyway
  • Which scholars can I use to back this up?
  • Is literacy a bad tool as it automatically prohibits those who have weak literacy
    • Use of TAs etc as scribes – verbal literacy is just as powerful as written literacy for assessment.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

